Getting to Know the Sustainable Development Goals


art-84-01-2020 The UN Sustainable Development Goals.

The United Nations (UN) Sustainable Development Goals or SDGs are 17 universal goals that aim to tackle some of the world’s pressing challenges in a holistic and sustainable manner to improve life for future generations.

They are the central aspects of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which were adopted by UN member states in 2015, including Malaysia.

Built on the principle of “leaving no one behind”, the SDGs are interconnected, meaning any successful goal will impact the outcomes in others, which will ensure development that balances social, economic and environmental sustainability.

The achievement of these goals is dependent on every country’s commitment towards the global sustainable development agenda and the cooperation between its government, private sector and civil society to turn the SDGs into reality.

The SDGs are:

GOAL 1: No Poverty

GOAL 2: Zero Hunger

GOAL 3: Good Health and Well-Being

GOAL 4: Quality Education

GOAL 5: Gender Equality

GOAL 6: Clean Water and Sanitation

GOAL 7: Affordable and Clean Energy

GOAL 8: Decent Work and Economic Growth

GOAL 9: Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

GOAL 10: Reduced Inequalities

GOAL 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities

GOAL 12: Responsible Consumption and Production

GOAL 13: Climate Action

GOAL 14: Life below Water

GOAL 15: Life on Land

GOAL 16: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

GOAL 17: Partnerships for the Goals

Comments are closed.